ArtsATL > Luminary Awards

The ArtsATL Luminary Awards is our commemoration of the passionate, creative and innovative spirit of Atlanta’s arts community.

January 28, 2018
VIP Reception, 5 – 6 p.m.
Award Ceremony, 6 – 8 p.m.


City Winery at Ponce City Market


Join the host committee today!

$150 (Individual) / $250 (Couple)

General admission tickets to be released in November.

2018 Luminary Award Recipients

Learn more about our 2018 winners.

You can help us honor the awardees by joining the host committee today!

The Amaranth Award for Philanthropic Legacy

Robert G. Edge

The Catalyst Award for Social Discourse

The artists and community members whose efforts successfully halted mural regulations in the City of Atlanta. The group includes artists Fabian Williams, Yoyo Ferro and Peter Ferrari, as well as local activist Grant Henry and lawyers Gerry Weber and Zach Greenmyre.

The Kindle Award for Artistic Innovation

IDEA Capital

The Halcyon Award for Outstanding Leadership

Sue Schroeder, CORE Dance

The Beacon Award for Community Engagement

Out on Film

Joan P. Garner Outstanding Service to the Arts Award

Presented in partnership with Fulton County Arts and Culture.

Virginia Hepner

Myrna Anderson-Fuller

Thank you to our Host Committee members for helping us to recognize our 2018 award recipients.

Susan and David Aspinwall

Lucinda Bunnen

Mary Frances Callis

Ann and Jeff Cramer

Chuck Day

Randy Donaldson

Sara Hehir

Carolyn Milner

Hala Moddelmog

Janine Musholt

Sam Romo

Doug Shipman

Ellen Stein

Rand Suffolk

Terri Theisen

Luminary Awards Selection Panel

Our distinguished panel of jurors will select the awards winners from the pool of submitted nominations.


Ivan Pulinkala

Luminary Awards Chair

Kennesaw State University Department of Dance

Ken Bernhardt

Georgia State University

Katherine Dirga


Leslie Gordon

Georgia State University’s Rialto Center for the Arts

Bem Joiner

Center for Civic Innovation

Ann Carol Pence

Aurora Theatre

Dantes Rameau

Atlanta Music Project

Steffen Sornpao

Good Enough Gallery


Blake Beckham

Lucky Penny

Madison Cario

Georgia Institute of Technology

Audrey Gamez

C4 Atlanta

Sarah Higgins

Zuckerman Museum of Art

Tina Lilly

Georgia Council for the Arts

Josh Phillipson

Atlanta Regional Commission

Doug Shipman

Woodruff Arts Center

Ife Williams 

Hudgens Center for the Arts

2017 Award Recipients

Ken and Kathy Bernhardt
The Amaranth Award for Philanthropic Legacy

Zuckerman Museum of Art
The Catalyst Award for Social Discourse

Lucky Penny
The Kindle Award for Innovative Practice

John McFall
The Beacon Award for Community Engagement

Become a sponsor of the Luminary Awards. Award naming opportunities are available. Please contact Laura Moody at for more information.